THE CASE FOR OPEN BORDERS

Why Are Brown Passports Shitty And White Passports Good?

Where you‘re born can shrink your world by 75%

indi.ca
4 min readJul 18, 2019

--

My children have two different passports, making them a sort of case study in the stupidity and ultimate cruelty of passports. My daughter has a white passport, so no visas required. My son has a brown passport and he has to prove that he’s not trying to escape brown-town. I have to sit in consulates and bring sheafs of documents and basically grovel to get him permission to move about the earth.

We accept this as just the way things are, but fucking why? The British didn’t show their passports when they took the wealth out of here, nor the Americans or the Australians when they plundered their new homes.

Why do white people get to be digital nomads and tourists and expats while brown people are supposed to stay still?

This system of oppression persists largely because the oppressed accept and enforce it themselves, but I’m telling you that the empire has no clothes. I can see it because my kids are very similar and they, by bureaucratic quirk, live in completely different worlds.

My son can access 22% of the world without a visa. My daughter can access 94%. This was all determined at their birth. This…

--

--

indi.ca

Indrajit (Indi) Samarajiva is a Sri Lankan writer. Follow me at www.indi.ca, or just email me at indi@indi.ca.