We’re In A Big COVID Wave And Just Drowning

Everybody’s got COVID and 🤷🏾‍♂️

indi.ca
4 min readJul 20, 2022
An old photo of me underwater in Keerimalai

I used to look at the COVID numbers and feel scared about the world outside. Now COVID is inside my fucking body and the numbers are disturbingly reassuring. It feels like there’s a huge wave crashing over the whole world and we’re acting like we’re mermaids, but we’re not.

My daughter had COVID, both sets of grandparents, and many of my neighbors and friends too. And yet my country (Sri Lanka) is reporting only a few dozen cases a day. But I know a few dozen cases personally. We’ve just given up. Besides China, so have most countries.

I’ve been doing some remote work and people there have COVID also, from Egypt to England. It’s everywhere, even more than before, when we took more precautions. I guess because we’re not taking precautions. People have given up and COVID hasn’t. So it just keeps chewing through the human population.

I remember thinking that when vaccines came out there was a light at the end of the tunnel. But white greed made the vaccines useless for stopping this by hoarding them for profit. White arrogance made that task even more impossible by using vaccines to ignore basic hygiene like masking and ventilation, and never attempting test/trace/isolate like China.

--

--

indi.ca

Indrajit (Indi) Samarajiva is a Sri Lankan writer. Follow me at www.indi.ca, or just email me at indi@indi.ca.