It’s OK Wanting Trump To Die

“Chickens coming home to roost always made me glad”

indi.ca
4 min readOct 6, 2020
Lucid Dreamer 142, 2019 by Naoto Hattori

When JFK was assassinated, Malcolm X said, “Being an old farm boy myself, chickens coming home to roost never did make me sad; they always made me glad.”

This statement blew up, but people in the audience that day clapped and cheered.

Because he was right.

NYTimes, Dec 2, 1963

Chickens

America assassinated leaders all over the world. Why shouldn’t it come home?

America murdered black people on its own soil. Why not white?

Violence is a plague. You cannot contain it. As Dr. Martin Luther King said:

The unforgivable default of our society has been its failure to apprehend the assassins (of murdered Civil Rights leaders). It is a harsh judgment, but undeniably true, that the cause of the indifference was the identity of the victims. Nearly all were Negroes. And so the plague spread until it claimed the most eminent American, a warmly loved and respected president. (MLK)

--

--

indi.ca

Indrajit (Indi) Samarajiva is a Sri Lankan writer. Follow me at www.indi.ca, or just email me at indi@indi.ca.