I Am Not Your Minority

White people are the minority. We are the world

indi.ca
4 min readJan 22, 2021
‘Minorities’ everywhere. Even in the past

I am not your minority. Brown people, black people, Asians, we outnumber white people by the billions. We are in fact the majority, and y’all need to get used to it.

You might think I’m a brown writer in a white world, but this ignores the fact the THE WORLD is not white at all. There are nearly 2 billion people that look like me. It’s a wonder that you’re not seeing more. There’s a sense that I’m a minority perspective on your world, and I’m not. I’m just from the world.

What you are seeing is a much bigger majority culture poking into your provincial world, and you call us minorities. Lol no.

We are not minorities. We are the world. This might take a minute to get used to, but it’s coming more and more. As Aladdin could tell you, it’s a whole new world. A new fantastic point of view. No one to tell us “no”, or where to go. Or say we’re only dreaming.

Now you’re in a whole new world with me.

The world by population. Who’s the majority?

A World Of Minorities

Growing up in Columbus, Ohio I definitely felt like a minority. When I went to…

--

--

indi.ca

Indrajit (Indi) Samarajiva is a Sri Lankan writer. Follow me at www.indi.ca, or just email me at indi@indi.ca.