Hospitals and The Horror

It cannot go on like this, and by it I mean America and ‘Israel’

indi.ca
6 min readJun 4, 2024
“Dr. Mohamed Al-Haj Ahmed, shot by an Israeli sniper, with a bullet penetrating his back and exiting his hand at Kamal Adwan Hospital in northern #Gaza. Dr. Mohamed Al-Haj Ahmed, shot by an Israeli sniper, with a bullet penetrating his back and exiting his hand at Kamal Adwan Hospital in northern #Gaza. His parents & sister were killed in the attack. Despite his injuries, he hasn’t abandoned the wounded, continuing to treat them!” (Via)

I’m in the hospital (for someone else, who’s fine) and the thought of someone bombing this place is just abominable. It’s unimaginable and yet I must imagine it, because it’s happening right now. I think of the walls being pierced with tank shells, the roof coming down, soldiers and drones coming in and shooting people, beating the doctors and torturing them. I think of all this as I walk down anodyne halls, with everything in place, sanitized and numbered. What I see on screen is spilling into reality. Empire imperils all of our souls via empathy. I can’t help but feel it, and feel it keenly. ‘Israel’ and America have attacked normal human life so much that signs of their evil are everywhere. It’s unbearable and I’m not even bearing it.

‘Israel’ has shelled, invaded, and targeted hospitals from day one. I remember in the beginning when they targeted and hit doctors at home, killing them and their entire bloodlines. That was table stakes for the bloodless blood-letting that was to come. Since then, I have seen them sneak into hospitals in disguise, to execute patients in their beds. I have seen them bomb a hospital and blame the Resistance, only to go on and bomb all of them. I have seen them kill everyone around a terrified child (precious Hind), then kill the…

--

--

indi.ca

Indrajit (Indi) Samarajiva is a Sri Lankan writer. Follow me at www.indi.ca, or just email me at indi@indi.ca.